• Are you Wheelchair Rugby Ready?
  • The only full contact wheelchair sport in the world
  • An invasion and evasion sport...
  • Actively played in 26 countries with more in development
  • Wrecking wheelchairs around the world since 1977
  • Combines the ethos of Rugby with elements of basketball and handball
  • Don't just sit there - get in the game
  • IWRF Partners
1 November 2013

Quadfather Duncan Campbell to receive IPC Paralympic Order

Duncan Campbell is acknowledged throughout the world as the creator of the sport that is today called Wheelchair Rugby. In 1976, he and a small group of friends developed the basic rules, regulations and chair design that helped form the basis of this high impact, hugely popular Paralympic team sport.


Previously a member of Canada's national team, Duncan remains active in the sport today as a player, recruiter, motivator, teacher and tactician in British Colombia. He serves as a mentor to great players such as Canada's Garett Hickling and Ian Chan, and has introduced wheelchair rugby to countless people as a recreation therapist in Vancouver. Duncan also serves as a member of the IWRF Board of Directors, which is the global governing body for the sport.


IWRF President John Bishop stated; “On behalf of the thousands of people whose lives have forever been improved as a result of participating in Wheelchair Rugby, we congratulate Duncan on this momentous achievement, and send our heartfelt thanks to him for sharing his amazing sport with the Global Wheelchair Rugby Family”.


The International Paralympic Committee (IPC) will award Duncan and three other individuals with the Paralympic Order – the highest tribute a person connected with the Paralympic Movement can achieve – on 23 November at the 2013 Paralympic Awards in Athens, Greece. 

Each of the recipients have made important contributions to the Paralympic Movement and have illustrated the Paralympic ideals either in the sporting world or via outstanding services to the cause of the Movement.  The 2013 Paralympic Order recipients include:


Duncan Campbell a.ka. the "Quadfather" is still in the Game 37 years later!