• Are you Wheelchair Rugby Ready?
  • IWRF Partners
  • The only full contact wheelchair sport in the world
  • An invasion and evasion sport...
  • Actively played in 26 countries with more in development
  • Wrecking wheelchairs around the world since 1977
  • Combines the ethos of Rugby with elements of basketball and handball
  • Don't just sit there - get in the game
3 April 2014

Teams Announced for 2014 Canada Cup


BC Wheelchair Sports Association formally announced today the list of teams attending the 2014 Canada Cup International Wheelchair Rugby Tournament.


The Canada Cup, which is considered one of the most prestigious wheelchair rugby tournaments in the world, will take place from June 19-21 at the Richmond Olympic Oval.



The teams attending will be:
New Zealand
Great Britain

“We’re excited to once again bring world-class wheelchair rugby to the Richmond Olympic Oval and to celebrate the 10th anniversary of Canada Cup,” said BCWSA Executive Director Gail Hamamoto. “We’re confident that this year’s Canada Cup will be the best one yet.”


For the first time, the results at Canada Cup will impact the world rankings leading into the 2014 IWRF World Wheelchair Rugby Championship, so teams have an extra incentive to bring their best performances. Canada is currently ranked #3 and will seek to improve their seeding by toppling Australia, the 2012 Paralympic gold-medalists.


Canada Cup was created by BCWSA in 2004 to provide an elite wheelchair rugby competition outside of the World Championships or Paralympic Games and has been held biennially ever since. This year’s Canada Cup is generously supported by the Government of Canada and the Province of BC.


For more information or to schedule an interview, contact:


Arley McNeney
Communications Manager
BC Wheelchair Sports