• Are you Wheelchair Rugby Ready?
  • The only full contact wheelchair sport in the world
  • An invasion and evasion sport...
  • Actively played in 26 countries with more in development
  • Wrecking wheelchairs around the world since 1977
  • Combines the ethos of Rugby with elements of basketball and handball
  • Don't just sit there - get in the game
  • IWRF Partners
26 August 2016

Draw for IWRF 2016 European Championship Division B

The draw has been made for the 2016 IWRF European Championship Division B which will be held in Nottwil, Switzerland, from 3-10 October 2016.


Division B includes the two teams which finished seventh and eighth at the 2015 IWRF European Championship Division A, Belgium and Finland; the four teams which finished from third to sixth at the 2015 IWRF European Championship Division B, Switzerland, Poland, Czech Republic, and Austria; and the top two teams from the 2016 IWRF European Championship Division C, Italy and Russia.


The draw was conducted on August 26, 2016. The draw was done in pairs, with pairs seeded based on the current IWRF World Ranking list. One team from each pair was drawn into each pool. The host country, Switzerland, was given their choice of pools.


The results of the draw are:


Pool A

Finland (12)

Poland (15)

Czech Republic (16)

Russia (21)


Pool B

Belgium (13)

Switzerland (14)

Austria (17)

Italy (22)


(Bracketed numbers represent current positions on the IWRF World Ranking List)


At the European Championship Division B, each pool will play a single round-robin, with the top two teams from each pool proceeding to the medal round. The competition schedule will be prepared by the LOC in consultation with IWRF in the coming weeks.


The top two teams at the European Championship Division B will qualify for the 2017 IWRF European Championship Division A to be held in Germany. Teams finishing third to sixth will remain in Division B, and the two last place teams will be relegated to Division C.